Strawberry Rhubarb Purr

I have never successfully made my own pie crust.

It has been too dry, too sticky, too small, too not-delicious…

But a few days ago I had PIE CRUST SUCCESS!!!

I used the Our Best Bites recipe.  It was rather simple, but…

Mmm...butter flavored Crisco

Not only was it (in my humble opinion) pretty, it was also manageable, flaky, and delicious.  And I don’t even have a rolling pin!

In other news, isn’t that a pretty pie dish?  My Mom got it for me for Free-fifty.

But what to put in such a pristine pie crust?  My dear friend, Allergictocatslady, recently made a strawberry-rhubarb pie.

I have been thinking about it ever since, so I had to make my own.

I used a recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe for the filling and streusel topping.

Strawberry and rhubarb -- a match made in Heaven! ...and in my pie.

Despite my love for rhubarb, it still makes me a bit nervous.  So, I used a bit more strawberry and a bit less rhubarb than the recipe called for.  I was pleased with the results, but the recommended quantities would probably be delightful as well!

Then I made a streusel-y crumbly topping.

Streusel topping, FTW!

I mixed a bit of Vietnamese Cinnamon into the streusel topping…because I really like cinnamon.  While it was baking it filled my apartment with indescribably delicious aromas.

Be sure and put the pie tin on a cookie sheet as recommended.  Mine spilled over a bit and made a hot mess.

I really wanted to eat the pie as soon as it came out of the oven, but I begrudgingly let it cool.

Colonel guarded it for me.

Though it looked like he wanted to sneak a taste…

Can you see the longing in his cute little face?

He didn’t get any.

It was worth the wait.

The crust was flakey, the filling was the perfect balance of tart and sweet, and the streusel on top added a little extra flavor and texture.  I will continue using this combination of recipes for strawberry rhubarb pie.  Maybe right now.

Eat it slightly warmed with vanilla ice cream.  Just vanilla–other flavors are mildly unacceptable.  You won’t regret it.

This pie was likened to things that are not appropriate to discuss on this family-friendly blog.

Mmm…pie.

If you’re scared of making pie crust, make this recipe with this filling and topping.

In other news — 3.14.

Love, guard cats, and pie (and more pie),

R

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:54:57

    This looks delightful…and delicious! Good job conquering your pie crust inferiority complex.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Red, white, and blue muffins…minus the blue. « 2catladies

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

