Cat Lady 101

As prominent cat ladies, R and I are often asked how an ordinary person can become a cat lady (or a cat lad/cat man, for all you gentlemen out there).  Although it isn’t necessarily an exact science, there are several factors that contribute to the ultimately desired status of cat lady.  So today, we’re going to take a look at some specific questions in pursuit of cat-lady-dom, and our typical answers for those questions.

Q: Do I need a cat to be considered a cat lady?

L: Technically, yes.  However, there are certain “cat lady” tendencies that future cat ladies, or cat ladies in training, will undoubtedly exhibit.  These can include, but are not limited to:
1) Having a fascination with Hello Kitty accessories
2) Knowing the words to “Soft Kitty
3) Having a tendency for fuzzy pajamas
4) Offering your house guests warm milk and patting them on the head
5) Visiting icanhascheezburger.com more than once.
If you have ever displayed any of these tendencies, congratulations (or con-cat-ulations)!  You’re well on your way to becoming a cat lady.

R: Yes.  You should also have a deep-seated desire to visit this island.

Q: How many cats do I need before people start calling me the “crazy cat lady?”

L:  At least one.  Once you add the housecoat, slippers, and curlers in your hair, it’s only a matter of time.

R: It’s the quality of your time spent with your cat(s) that matters, not quantity of said cats.

Q: I’d like to have a cat, but I have allergies.

L: Get some medication.  Your future cat will thank you.

R: Get one of these or some of this.

Q: Will having a cat hinder my dating life?

L: Possibly, but that’s a problem why?

R: Probably.  So?

Q: I already have a dog.  Could I be considered a cat lady if I got a kitten as well?

L: I’m not sure about this one.  First of all, your kitten, although prone to purring and loving, is going to know that your first choice of pet was of the canine variety, not the feline.  That might be a problem.  If you find surprises in your shoes, keep in mind that it’s just your cat’s way of showing that he thinks enough of you to punish you.  As for being considered a cat lady, it’s possible, but it may take years to achieve that status.

R: You are a dog person currently.  Adding a kitten may turn you into an animal person, but I have yet to see a true cat lady with furry children of the feline AND canine variety.  No worries, you can still be a spinster if you like, which is nearly as prestigious a title as “crazy cat lady.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. allergictocatslady
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 19:02:03

    I’m so happy R recommended the hypoallergenic cats. Although I love dogs and hope to get one some day, I have never been able to love cats because I’m allergic to them. I wonder if I weren’t allergic to a cat if I would love it. I wonder if they have “rental” hypoallergenic cats so I could try one out? If not, maybe you guys could start your own business of rental hypoallergenic cats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

