The Importance of Friendship

So, one of my dear friends came into town last weekend.  She informed me that she would be at a lovely local bar on Saturday night, and although it was tempting to stay home in my penguin footy-pajamas and snuggle with Kilgore and Colonel while watching “The Aristocats,” I decided to venture out for a bit.

When I arrived, it was packed.  Crowded bars make me uncomfortable.  I located the table with my friend, but alas, she was surrounded by others.  We settled for communicating via note-passing the entire night (old-school texting?).  Of course one of the first things I communicated to her was “I am going to cook for you tomorrow.”  Because I like cooking for people.  And I love compliments on my culinary masterpieces (take note, in case you ever come over for dinner).

Here is an approximation of the conversation that ensued across the table via notepad:

Me: I need to make you dinner.  What do you want for dinner?

Her: I’m a big fan of comfort food.

Me: Done.

 

 

[then I drew a penguin picture]

 

 

 

 

 

 

Her: Oh R, you are by far the most talented, attractive, and fabulous friend I have (like I said…approximation)

Me: Agreed.  What do you want for dessert?

Her: Mmm.  Anything chocolate.

Me: (after mulling over the 249 chocolatey dessert recipes that I love making) You’re going to have to be more specific than that.  Chocolate and…peanut butter?  Caramel?  Marshmallow?

Her: Hazelnut!

Me: WTF.  No.  Choose something else.

Her: Ok…chocolate and caramel.

[Insert further ridiculous conversation and pictures here]

Alright, so I got home that night and hung out with my boys for awhile.  Then I started thinking about how this friend was not only one who tolerates my cats, but one who actually likes them.  Hazelnut it was.

Then it occurred to me — NUTELLA!  I believe it was my wonderful and beautiful sister who introduced me to nutella.  Here is a picture of her cat, Templeton, on a ladder.

You probably didn’t need me to point out that he is on a ladder.

Anyways, I prowled around the inter-webs until I found this recipe.

I hiked (well, drove) over to Wal-Mart the next morning to get some nutella (and some cat food…and treats…and a new feather toy).

Nutella costs way more than peanut butter, just in case you were wondering.

So, I made the cookies.  I didn’t have hazelnut extract, nor did I feel like buying it, so I put in a little extra butter.  It just seemed logical.  Butter makes everything better.  I love butter.  Templeton loves butter as well.

 

 

 

 

Here is my attempt at an artsy food blog photo.  Then I realized my wall, a picture, tupperware, and a chair were in the background.

 

 

 

So I shifted my still life to have just a blank white wall in the background.  You know, minimalism.

 

 

 

 

EPIC FAIL.

 

 

 

 

 

I mean…Kilgore knocked it over.  It wasn’t me being clumsy.  Stinkin’ cat.

Anyways, these cookies are delicious.  Chocolatey, hazelnutty, and even a tad spicy.  Many thanks to my friend for making me try new things.  I highly recommend them either 2 minutes after they come out of the oven, or reheated in a microwave with a bit of nutella spread on top.  I like to think that it was these cookies (or the other culinary comfort food masterpieces I made) that helped to maintain our friendship.

Here is the recipe again:

http://twopeasandtheirpod.com/chocolate-nutella-cookies/

Buy dark brown sugar.  You’ll use it again.

Yum.

Love, cats, and cookies,

R

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 03:03:16

    Beautiful sisters, hazelnut and cats on ladders. Blogs just don’t get better than this!

    Reply

  2. Lynn
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 04:04:17

    I just have a strange feeling that I know the author and characters of this blog…but that can’t be right since names and photos are well disguised so as to be anonymous…right?

    Reply

  3. 2catladies
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:45:25

    Please see “About” page for further evidence of anonymity.

    Reply

  4. Sheena
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 03:55:24

    Mmmmmmmm…I would gladly take my nephews as roomies if you would cook for me like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

