Sweetened Condensed Milk is NOT delicious on its own…

 

…but these are!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Poor Colonel would like some cookie dough truffles.

 

 

 

Attractive, no?

 

 

 

 

Sadly, he cannot have any.  But you can, by clicking…right…here.

If you should follow my sage advice and make these delightful treats, I highly recommend making the innards and freezing them the night before.

 

Innards.  I halved my recipe.  I would recommend just making the whole batch, because then you won’t be tempted to try the sweetened condensed milk on its own to try to figure out what to do with the leftovers.

 

 

 

 

Close-up of innards.  They already are delightful at this stage!  Not that I would know.  Anyways, make a full recipe.  If you don’t want to eat them all, you can freeze the leftovers or send them to me.  Preferably send them to me, because they’re delicious.  In fact, I want one now and they are gone.  Sad.

 

Anyways, I froze these lovely little dough balls overnight.  No, mother dear, they do not contain raw eggs, and therefore will NOT make me die at a young age (well, perhaps from obesity).

In the morning, I woke up…as people often do.  I melted some cheap semi-sweet baker’s chocolate in the microwave.  The method suggested on the link probably works better, as would more expensive chocolate.  However, I had no complaints!

 

I threw a ball in the melted chocolate, flipped it with a fork, then picked it up (gently…not stabbing it because that would create unsightly holes in your truffles!) with the fork and tapped…and tapped…and tapped.

 

Then I wished I had used one of my more attractive spatulas for this photo.

Then I realized I had to leave my apartment in 5 minutes, and had only finished half the batch.

Then I completed the rest of the truffles a  lot less carefully.

Then I realized the ones I did in a hurry were just as pretty as the ones I toiled over.

Then I realized I had 35 minutes, not 5 minutes.  And a lot of leftover melted chocolate.  So I tried to do fancy designs on the top of the truffles.

It kind of worked.  But not really.

I have no idea what happened to the one in the top left corner.

Those two in the second row seem to be getting a BIT too cozy…may need to break that up.

 

I highly recommend eating two or three of these for breakfast, then heading to Zumba class to try to diminish your guilt about your poor (but delicious) eating habits.

Because doing Zumba once a week will obviously get you in shape, despite your complete and utter lack of health-conscious behavior the rest of the week.

Here is the link again: http://annies-eats.net/2010/02/09/cookie-dough-truffles/

Keep them in the fridge.  Freeze some if you live with two cats who cannot partake in the deliciousness.  Hide them if you live with humans.  Or share with me.

Cats, Love, and Cookie Dough,

R

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 18:43:55

    Jumpin Jesus. I cannot tell you *how* awesome these look.

    Reply

  2. 2catladies
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 21:40:20

    Hey, you know where to find me!

    Plus, visitors would give me an excuse to make these again 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lynn
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 12:31:58

    You will make these for me also??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

