How I almost failed a foolproof recipe.

Prepare yourselves.  I’m going to share a recipe that will likely convert some of you leftover haters into leftover lovers.  It’s called Foolproof Jambalaya, and you can find it right here.  I might have chosen this specific recipe just because it was called “foolproof.”  Maybe.

When I first suggested that George and I make Jambalaya for dinner, this is the look he gave me.

“Are you serious?” he asked.

“Why, yes, George, of course I’m serious.  It’ll be delicious, just you wait.”

So what did he do?

He put himself in the corner.

Yeah, yeah, nobody puts baby in a corner…unless baby puts himself there.

So, I first began by sauteing some vegetables in vegetable oil.  The recipe I used only called for a green pepper, but I added a red one because I thought it was pretty. OH, and I left out the celery because I didn’t have any.

See how pretty they are?  Yum.

After that, I added in the shrimp and smoked sausage (if you hate shrimp, you can always use chicken).  Once they were cooking away, I added in the remaining ingredients and let it simmer while I enjoyed the wonderful aroma coming from my kitchen.

At this point, I became highly distracted by my piano and the music I was currently working on.  So, I let it simmer.  And simmer.  Aaaaaand simmer.

When I finally realized that time had just been passing me by, I raced to the kitchen to find that there wasn’t enough liquid to cook the rest of the rice.

Fortunately, I was able to add an extra cup of liquid in, and everything turned out practically perfect.

Whew!  It was almost a giant FAIL, but we cat ladies love just livin’ on the edge.

Aaaaand here’s the awesome finished product, which I will be taking as leftovers for the next 2 weeks because that’s what you do when you’re a cat lady…and it’s delicious.

Enjoy!

L

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 01:43:41

    Dear L,

    Two things:

    1) Thank you for including an alternative to shrimp. Ew…shrimp.

    2) Is that Mockingjay I spy on your table? Well played.

    Love,
    R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

