Cat Lady Advice: Leashes, Super-cats, Bonnets

We would like to thank all of you who recently wrote in with questions.  If we haven’t addressed your question today, look for it in an upcoming post.  Do you have a question for 2catladies?  E-mail us at 2catladies@gmail.com

Dear 2catladies,

Can I take my cats out for a walk? Would my cats be offended if I put a leash on them?

L:  It’s definitely possible to take your cats out for a walk, especially if they are of an average size and not fatty fat walruses.  A few years ago, I decided it would be an excellent idea for me to put a leash on George Gershwin and take him for a walk.  I went to the store, found the biggest cat halter and leash combo I could, and then proceeded to wrangle him into it.  The halter was a little bit tight (go figure), and unfortunately for George, he forgot to walk as soon as I put him in it.  He did this kind of “low-walking” or “skulking,” and honestly I was laughing too hard to do anything about it.  Eventually I took him outside, but I had to carry him because he just couldn’t walk right.  After rolling around in the grass, he meowed like crazy and I finally picked him up and took him back inside.  I think he took a nap after that because he was so exhausted. 

R: My sister recently called to tell me she had seen a woman walking around pushing a stroller with a cat-on-a-leash in it.  If she can do it, so can you!  I cannot.  Kilgore lays on the ground and plays “no bones”(a game he undoubtedly learned from my brother), and the leash throws Colonel into such a panic he won’t speak to me for days.

But you go right ahead — send pictures please!

Dear 2catladies:

Cat Women vs. Wonder Women…go!

L: Is there really a contest?  Catwoman has a feisty costume and could possibly be the ultimate cat lady. 

R: Did you really just ask the 2 cat ladies this question?  Duh.  Catwoman!

Dear 2catladies:

Is watching the musical Cats every night a bad thing?

L: No, it certainly isn’t a bad thing, and it can even be used as a special bonding time between you and your cats.  Perhaps your cats will even reenact scenes from it.  Wouldn’t that be exciting?

R: Not at all.  However, might I recommend mixing things up a bit by doing one or all of the following:

1) Reading aloud to your feline friends from “Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats (book of poetry that inspired Cats).

2) Attending live stage versions of Cats–at least once with orchestra level seats (awesome costumes and makeup!), and once in the balcony (the set looks really neat from up high).  Not that I’ve seen the musical multiple times…or had my picture taken with the cast when I was younger.

3) Add more DVDs to your viewing cycle, such as The Cat from Outer Space, The Aristocats, Oliver and Company, Cats Don’t Dance, Kitten Party, Kitten Party Holiday, or The Princess Bride.

Dear 2catladies:

Is dressing-up my kittens in bonnets a “faux-paw”? Do I need professional help?

L:  Congratulations on a fantastic pun!  We cat ladies love puns, especially clever ones.  Many cats go through a dress-up stage, whether willingly or unwillingly.  So, your kittens are in good company.  If you send us pictures of your kittens in bonnets, we’ll post them.

R: You’re so punny!  Well done.  If by “needing professional help” you mean “hiring a professional seamstress to create awesome custom costumes for your cats,” then yes.  Seek professional help immediately.

In addition to bonnets, my cats have expressed an interest in:

Bunny ears,

Pumpkin hats,

Chicken hats,

and stegosaurus hats.

Despite their somewhat odd love of dressing up, both are still well-adjusted, contributing members of society.


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 23:47:32

    Dear R,

    I’m a bit appalled you did not include rock star mohawk/rocket boots in your picture montage. Perhaps you’ll do a more thorough job next time.

    Sincerely, A disappointed reader in Kansas who may or may not be closely related to you

    Reply

  2. Trackback: By popular demand… « 2catladies

Leave a Reply

