Sack of Potatoes

A few weeks ago, I impulsively bought a sack of potatoes because they were on sale.   In my moment of weakness, I failed to realize that my household currently consists of myself and George Gershwin, (who doesn’t really eat potatoes).

I took the bag home, put it under my sink behind George’s bag of cat food, and forgot about it.

I did such a good job forgetting about it that I didn’t even notice the bag until George ran out of cat food and I pulled the old cat food bag out to throw away.

Then I saw them.  Potatoes!  So many potatoes.

It was at this point that I realized a) apparently I’m not a potato person, and b) I had no idea what to do with all of them.

I first decided to try my hand at scalloped potatoes, since I had a church dinner coming up and figured it would be a good time to make a dent in the bag.  Unfortunately, when I was broiling them at the end, I didn’t watch them carefully enough and didn’t notice the smoke filling my kitchen until my fire alarm went off.  Whoops.

It was too late to make anything else, so I scraped off the burnt top, put on some more cheese and bread crumbs, and broiled them again.  I tasted them before I left the house, and they weren’t too bad.  They certainly didn’t taste like they were the primary suspect in attempted arson at an apartment complex.

These are the “fixed” potatoes.  Still not the prettiest, but they tasted “okay.”

A few days later, as I was looking into George’s lovely face, I again remembered my sack of potatoes.  Because my cat is as heavy as a sack of potatoes.

This time I decided to make Gnocchi, which I’ve fortunately made a few times and knew I probably wouldn’t screw it up.  Gnocchi are basically little pasta dumplings and can be made from a variety of different sources, including potatoes.

I began by boiling potatoes until they were tender.

Then, I took the potatoes out, mashed them, and added about a cup of flour and an egg to make the dough.

After stirring the dough for a bit I worked it with my hands.  I then took a small handful of the dough, rolled it into a thin tube, and sliced the dough into squares.

Next, I threw the Gnocchi into boiling water.  They are done when they float to the top.  It usually takes about a minute.

After they were finished, I drained the Gnocchi and mixed them with an Alfredo sauce for a delicious meal.  With leftovers to spare, of course.

So, the good news is that I have only HALF a sack of potatoes left, but the bad news is that they’ve started sprouting…

Cats, Love, and Potatoes,

L

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 02, 2011 @ 15:32:52

    The Gnocchi sounds really good!

    I can never use up a whole sack of potatoes before they go bad either, so I’ve started buying just a few at a time. If you ever buy potatoes again you should just make baked potatoes in the microwave. It’s so easy. You just have to wash them, poke a few holes in them with a fork and then microwave for like 8 minutes (depending on how big your potato is.) Then of course you cover them in delicious things like sour cream, cheese, butter, and bacon bits.

    Reply

  2. 2catladies
    May 03, 2011 @ 02:00:07

    Ah, making baked potatoes is a very good idea, Sarah, and it’s certainly nice to know that I am not alone in failing to use a sack of potatoes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

