His eye is on the sparrow?

Who would have thought my sweet little kitty…

…could turn into such a bloodthirsty, tie-wearing killer?

Not me.

It all started last Saturday evening.

Kilgore was hanging out by my screen door birdwatching, as he often does.

I was in the kitchen minding my own business, being awesome…

….when all of a sudden I heard a terrible squawking sound.  In my apartment.

Somehow my stealthy cat had opened up the screen door, gone out on the balcony, caught a live sparrow, and brought it back inside.

It was not an easy task to track down Kilgore and extract the sparrow from his kitty jaws of death (by extract, I mean “snatch him by the scruff of his neck and bop him on the head until he spit out the bird”).

Now the sparrow was free from Kilgore’s clutches, and both of my furry (and wide-eyed) roommates were locked in my bedroom.  However, then came the problem of having a completely freaked out bird frantically flying around my apartment, running into walls/windows/scratching posts/me.

What was a poor girl to do?

Luckily my knight in shining armor showed up on his white horse (or in his Honda) and caught the sparrow (who may have had a concussion, and whose leg was bleeding) with the help of some super-manly purple kitchen gloves.

My hero.  Perhaps I will construct a statue in his honor.

Anyways, we put the little guy out on the balcony, all fixed up with a cast on his leg and some bread for the road/sky.

The part about the bread is true.  The part about cast is not, though I briefly considered taking him to the vet.  Then I remembered that my vet specifically treats cats, and a cat hospital was probably a bad place for a wounded bird.

We were worried about the little fellow, as he was a bit shaken.  However, he flew off and landed in a nearby tree without much difficulty.

I hope he’s okay.  I keep telling myself that he is.

Kilgore does not feel guilty.  Additionally, he thinks sparrows are delicious.

Thus ends the saga of Kilgore and the sparrow.  I’m still not entirely sure if I should be angry with him, or incredibly impressed.

I just saw a sparrow outside, flying slightly off-kilter.  I am going to assume it’s my little buddy.  And that he has been made into some sort of sparrow-hero for escaping from a domesticated house cat.  And that he’s going to live happily ever after with his wife and three eggs.

Houdini cats, Love, and reassuring-yet-unlikely-thoughts,

R

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    May 03, 2011 @ 23:43:16

    I don’t even know where to start. The halo? The devil horns? The alligator hat? The tributory statue? No, no…it has to be…the bird wearing a cast! Very realistic, by the way.

    Reply

  2. Tyrone
    May 03, 2011 @ 23:46:48

    heey girl is ya boy tyrone again and bird sounds so good to me right now may b some chicken wings mmm smells good cuz ur cooking is da bom ill be ur knigt in armer fo reels haha see you lata peece!

    Reply

  3. Ann
    May 04, 2011 @ 00:36:09

    I think this is my favorite blog entry yet of the 2 cat ladies. I’m impressed with both the photography and the storytelling. I am just picturing your night in shining armor running around your house with purple kitchen gloves on and it makes me laugh. Actually, all the imagery makes me laugh.

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    May 04, 2011 @ 01:06:01

    Yes. Epic. And speaking from experience, at least Kilgore didn’t leave the entrails as a “gift” to you. Also, you have some crazy-awesome photoshop skills. Because sparrows with zebra stripe casts? Best idea ever!

    Reply

  5. molly
    May 04, 2011 @ 09:11:09

    Kilgore u disapoint molly. you got to kill that bitch and leave it in mommy’s shoe. alas, you must try again to impress the Queen.

    btw did you hear all about that other “queen” in a place called england. I’s did and I’s not very happy.

    QM

    Reply

  6. Melanie
    May 06, 2011 @ 14:01:32

    I loved it, especially the enhanced photography. The Cat Ladies need to check out this story from Slate regarding cat warfare (obviously a spoof but terrific nonetheless): .

    Reply

  7. Melanie
    May 06, 2011 @ 14:03:02

    So the Web site didn’t print. Let’s see if it works now. http://www.slate.com/id/2293232/

    Reply

  8. 2catladies
    May 08, 2011 @ 22:41:39

    Melanie, thanks for sharing! Awesome (paw-some!).

    I think Kilgore would be a shoe-in (paw-in?) based on his recent covert activity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

