Stop what you’re doing and make these.

Seriously.  Do it.  You might even have all of the ingredients readily available!  If not, go to the store.  Now.

A few weeks ago I stumbled across this recipe for Salt River Bars.

Go ahead and look at the photos on her blog.  They’re way prettier than mine.  I can wait.

Anyways, the recipe reminded me of one of our family favorites — pralines.  The linked recipe is mostly accurate, except we use less chocolate and omit the nuts.  And so should you if you ever make them.

So I immediately forwarded the Salt River Bar recipe to my mother, sister, and sister-in-law.

I got this text from my Mother the next day:

Betcha wish you could be me right now!

Not cool Mom.

Of course she sent me this picture on a day I had NO time to set aside to make them, so I just had to drool over her picture.

The next day I heard from her that my slobbering, piggish, greedy, and hungry sister and aunt had devoured the entire pan, leaving my poor Mom with only the crumbs.  Which she apparently scraped together with a spoon, and then cried because they were gone.

The photo and stories just made me want these more, despite having no time to make them.  It was a rather stressful week.

Kilgore Trout and Colonel Coffey were also stressed.  They lead difficult lives.

See?  Poor things.

My heart goes out to these neglected creatures.

I FINALLY stayed up way too late  had time to make these, and let me tell you — it was worth it.  They were actually quite easy, and the hardest part was waiting for them to harden up in the fridge.

Cracker, peanut butter caramel, cracker, peanut butter caramel, cracker, peanut butter caramel, cracker, chocolate, salt.

Oh my goodness.  I would like to make some more right now, but as mentioned in my previous post, my stinkin’ cats destroyed my box of club crackers.

Here are some helpful hints that I will keep in mind next time:

-Spoon the caramel mixture onto the crackers.  The butter separates, and spooning it on allows for more evenly dispersed coverage.

-Keep the caramel mixture hot, or reheat between layers, so it will melt the peanut butter chips.

-Alter the amount of chocolate based on what you like.  I am a chocolate fiend and used less than a cup which was plenty for my taste.

-Don’t be afraid of the sea salt.  I put on a decent amount but could have used more.

-Don’t share.

-Go ahead and eat 3 or 4 in one sitting.  I won’t tell.

-Make them now.  You won’t regret it.  Unless you hate awesome and delicious things.

Cats, Love, and one of my new favorite desserts,

R

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    May 11, 2011 @ 19:18:13

    Guess it makes sense that I get a shout out in this one for being “catty”!

    Reply

  2. Favorite Aunt Judy
    May 11, 2011 @ 23:11:57

    I happen to be the slobbish, greedy, whatever, aunt aforementioned. And I don’t regret one single bite of your momma’s Salt River Bars. Not even after getting called out ONLINE for overdoing on said deliciousness. 🙂 So there.

    Reply

  3. 2catladies
    May 11, 2011 @ 23:15:15

    Hey, I didn’t name names. I could have been talking about ANY sister or aunt! But seriously, aren’t they amazingly delicious? I want more now.

    Reply

  4. Kerry
    May 12, 2011 @ 02:46:30

    This post made me giggle & definitely made my night. I’m glad you all liked them. And I agree… not sharing is the best helpful hint. 🙂

    Reply

  5. 2catladies
    May 12, 2011 @ 20:58:09

    Kerry, so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for posting such an amazingly delicious recipe! I have been perusing your other recipes and you will be featured on our blog again at some point 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

