The Sloth, the Avalanche, and Monkey cupcakes

Little Sarah, the cutest little sloth there ever was, came to visit last weekend.

Her aunt wanted to have a surprise pre-birthday dinner for her, so I offered to make dessert.

I had been wanting to make Chocolate Mousse Crunch Cake for quite some time (I love the Our Best Bites ladies!), so I decided to give it a go.

Because I am relatively certain my mother used to tell me bedtime stories about the evils of box mix cakes, I used the Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake recipe.  It is delicious.

So, I made my cake.

Layer #1 with mousse and toffee

This is what happens when you layer a cake with your bare hands

Success!!!

I put my beautiful cake in the fridge, because the amazing mousse needs to stay refrigerated…and then tragedy struck.  Either a miniature avalanche occurred in my refrigerator or I didn’t let the cakes cool enough before assembly.  I’m going with the former, because I hate admitting fault (hehe….fault.  Like the fault lines on the cake).

FAIL.

I was so embarrassed by the sight of my fallen cake that I made monkey cupcakes to redeem myself in the eyes of Sarah, and her aunt and uncle.  I got this idea from the Our Best Bites ladies as well!

Click on photo to admire my craftsmanship up close!

I used a family banana cake recipe and…*SIGH*…canned frosting.  I’m ashamed, but I was pressed for time!

Ashamed monkey

The eyes are leftover Easter M&Ms, the snout (snout?) is a vanilla wafer, the ears are mini Oreos, and the details are writing icing.  Served on a bed of *sigh* canned frosting.

I think the Birthday Girl liked them!

Isn’t she pretty?
This monkey has red hair, like a certain someone special…

Sarah is a sloth.  Too bad I couldn’t figure out sloth cupcakes.

Luckily, the disastrous cake was exceptionally delicious and the monkey cupcakes were adorable (and tasty!), so everyone was suitably impressed.

Little Sarah’s pre-birthday celebration continued the next morning with a lovely violin/harp duet at church.  Then I convinced her to stay in town by promising her we would make Roasted Red Pepper Dip, yet another gem from Our Best Bites!

We scooped up the roasted red pepper dip with a cat spoon…

…and ate it on pita bread.  Oh man was it good.  Definitely worth sticking around!

Colonel Coffey was so excited that Sarah was staying, he dressed up in his Sunday Best.

Doesn’t he look thrilled??
He loves me


Kilgore was also excited about her staying.  He displayed his excitement by posing like this the majority of the time.

Happy Birthday Little Sarah!

The 2 Cat Ladies love you!

Even though 1 of the 2 Cat Ladies was extremely jealous that she couldn’t be there to celebrate with you!  Instead, she had to put up with this…all weekend long.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie Flash
    May 19, 2011 @ 20:43:22

    Best. Post. EVAR. 🙂

    P.S. Why am I always hungry when I read this blog?? 😉

    Reply

  2. Sarah (aka Sloth)
    May 20, 2011 @ 03:09:44

    Thanks for the birthday wishes! I love you guys! And yes, everything you/we made/ate last weekend was delicious!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    May 21, 2011 @ 21:37:15

    Oh my goodness, I think I need to make that cake. Or the cupcakes. Or the dip. Maybe all of it. Yummmmmmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

