Beware of Vampire Cats

With all the hype regarding vampires, I’ve been wondering if fans of vampire lit, movies, and TV shows are more prone to be cat lovers than not.  In fact, this thought popped into my head as I was trying to fall asleep the other night…in the dark…when I was suddenly very brutally attacked by my otherwise lovable fur ball, George Gershwin.

He looks so innocent!

It shouldn’t surprise me that George has an interest in biting.  He is a cat of varied interests, including holding “modeling” positions for hours, just hoping that I will take notice and snap a few pictures.

For the cover of Cat Fancy - Swimsuit Edition

This pose might work better as an album cover for soft jazz.

But I digress.

He pounced on the bed, and as I gently raised my hand to pet him, he responded by curling his kitty-lips, revealing his fangs, and biting my fingers.  His sharp teeth glistened menacingly in the moonlight.

Look at how scary those things are!

Vampire Cats are more common than one might realize.  They can really be quite frightening.

Most of the time when George bites me, he doesn’t draw blood, but he clearly lives for the sport of it.  I’m not sure if this means that he is a) purely playful, or b) inherently evil but despises the taste of blood.

Sometimes I use an oven mitt to get George’s daily passion for biting out of his system.  This helps when he decides to attack my entire arm, and even though he uses his back claws to give full force to the attack, the oven mitt helps combat every blow.

I’ve never been accident prone, but I do get strange looks sometimes when I’m out in public sporting a series of puffy red scratches and bite marks.  Granted, a severe attack doesn’t happen too often…at least not often enough for George and I to start going to Pet/Staff therapy.

Vampire Cats and Oven Mitts,

L

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:10:08

    Haha! I love George’s modeling poses!

    Reply

  2. Lynn
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:17:38

    Ah, yes…the old reliable oven mitt trick has also save me many scratches and bites. As well, I am a new fan of kitty sedative!

    Reply

  3. 2catladies
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 22:32:13

    *Snickers* — Kitty sedatives. Another story for another day, with pictures! – R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

