The Name of a Cat

Over the years, I’ve had several cats that were probably either incredibly dumb or not properly named.  These were the cats of yesteryear, the cats who would not respond when I called their names.

I’m so tickled to have a cat these days who knows his own name.

Just stretchin' ...proudly stretchin'

In fact, when I say his name, he often responds with thumping his tail, turning to look at me, or meowing.  I imagine his meow translates to something like “I’m here.  What do you need?”  Such a polite little guy.

Yesterday, he was lounging, and this is what happened when I tried to get his attention.

He twitches when I say his name!

Adorable!

It almost makes me tear up.  But not really.  Because that’s not how I roll.

But that’s how the cat lady in this video rolls.  You might have seen this one already.  It was passed on to us by one of our dear readers who has two adorable cats of her own.

Wow.

Cats, Purring, and Serious Amusement,

L

Note from R:  While we DID receive a request to blog about the eHarmony video in our email account, I also received several emails, text messages, facebook messages, and personal phone calls recommending I watch it.  Why, I ask you?  Why on earth does this woman remind people of me?

That’s all.  Also, I apologize for being MIA lately — I have an adorable new nephew who requires my undivided attention.

Love, R

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 21:36:19

    R- I am interested in learning more about this nephew of yours.
    L- I love it when a cat knows his name, I think Jonah knows his. He doesn’t answer to Mr. Yellow.

    Reply

  2. 2catladies
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 23:08:48

    Michael, How would you feel about a post featuring mostly cats helping paint a nursery, but also a few bonus pictures of a precious baby?

    Reply

    • Michael
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 09:20:42

      I would feel pretty awesome about a post featuring cats helping paint a nursery (as well as cats that help prepare items that hang in said nursery). I don’t think that bonus baby pictures would detract from the post…as long as the baby will someday marry a cat lady of his very own. You have to keep the theme alive, right?

      Reply

  3. Lynn
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 07:46:30

    Do “blog watchers” get to vote on blog content? Because if so, I vote “YES!” for the cats in the nursery/baby entry!

    Reply

  4. Veronique
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 04:12:54

    Kitteh naming is a serious business; a lot of twitching depends on it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

