Red, white, and blue muffins…minus the blue.

I had nutella left over from these.

I had strawberries left over from this (that were in questionable condition, but worked nicely!)

So…I decided the logical solution was to make these.

It proved to be an excellent decision.

I didn’t have any buttermilk on hand, so I used this.  I highly recommend it — I have used it in place of buttermilk several times and it works well.  You just add the powder to the dry ingredients, and water to the wet.  Much easier than going to the store.

Here is a picture of my salt shaker (courtesy of dear sister) in my dry ingredients.  Penguins are year-round decorations, right sisterfriend?

I like to think of the Santa hat as a fedora, the Christmas tree as a green Bomb Pop, and the scarf as a trendy non-winter scarf.

I added some Vietnamese cinnamon to the dry mix, because I love it and have been adding it to nearly everything I bake lately.

You can get Vietnamese cinnamon (it’s extra fancy!) from Penzeys Spices.  I love them, and I’m relatively certain that they love me.

I suffered a tragic loss while making these muffins.  I ran out of vanilla.  The recipe calls for a teaspoon and I had a measly 1/2 teaspoon left.

Mourning the loss of a dear friend

5 Cat lady points will be awarded to whoever correctly guesses which of the pictured ingredients was used in place of the other 1/2 tsp vanilla.

My batter was surprisingly thick and dry.  It made me real nervous.  Then I added the strawberry pieces and their added moisture made it all okay.

I used a cookie scoop to fill my princess cupcake liners half full of batter, then tossed in some Nutella, then scooped more batter in.  I ended up with 12 muffins.  I don’t know how/why…but I did, and I’m okay with that.

Because I don’t know what Turbinado sugar is (though I would like some because it’s fun to say), I sprinkled regular sugar and (surprise!) more Vietnamese cinnamon on top before baking them.

While I was waiting for them to bake, I contemplated the mess that is my life–or at least my apartment.

I flooded my kitchen.  It got to my cookbooks.  Sadly, I can’t blame any of this on my cats.

The muffins didn’t turn out terribly pretty…

…but they WERE delicious!

Go to the original post at Two Peas and their Pod.  Their pictures are way prettier (maybe it’s because of the cultured buttermilk?  Or the fact that they actually measure their ingredients?).

These are my patriotic muffins.  If you were feeling real patriotic, you could add blue dye.

I wasn’t feeling patriotic.  I was just hungry.

Floods, semi-patriotic muffins, and fluffy kitties,

R

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 18:21:59

    I am applying for 5 bonus catlady points…definitely substituted butter flavoring for the sad, sad dead vanilla.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 19:51:46

    I love that your cinnamon label says “extra fancy!” It makes me think of the “fancy” ketchup packets at McDonalds. I would probably also guess butter flavoring, but to be different I’ll say Almond flavoring. I don’t really deserve cat lady points anyway, since I don’t have a cat. hehe

    Reply

  3. Ann
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 23:52:31

    I am so entertained by how the vanilla is “down for the count” in that picture!! I guess butter flavoring too was substituted. And I guessed it before I read the other comments (I’m not just piggy backing on others). Sarah, you and I can be friends because I don’t have a cat either. But don’t worry, you can still earn lots of cat lady points.

    Reply

  4. 2catladies
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 00:11:29

    I’m going to give it 24 hours before revealing the answer. I probably could just do it now since you are likely the only 3 to enter the contest, but I’ll give the others time…all 3 of the others that might potentially comment.

    Love, R

    Reply

  5. Melanie
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 14:14:22

    The muffins look yummy.
    I don’t know if you two cat ladies see the cartoon Arlo and Janis. (Really? A misspelling line under Arlo but not Janis. Give me a break.) It often includes their cat. The one for today (July 3) is great: http://www.gocomics.com/arloandjanis.

    Reply

  6. 2catladies
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 12:21:30

    You all get 3 bonus points — I used almond AND butter! Tricky.

    Arlo and Janis was highly amusing — thanks for sharing! My cats do that.

    Reply

  7. Lynn
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 13:51:10

    I don’t believe you really used almond. Calling shenanigans…

    Reply

  8. 2catladies
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 10:09:36

    Almond goes with hazelnut, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

