Angry Little Cat

One of the most difficult things about being a cat lady is leaving your cat behind when you go out of town.  Even if it’s just for a short weekend trip, like the one I recently took.

I tried to justify leaving George alone for 2 nights by suggestion to myself that if I filled his food bowls up all the way, he might not notice I was missing during the 3 consecutive hours he is actually awake between naps.

Here’s what George does when he lounges.Yawn!

If he wasn’t so adorable, I would get bored watching him.

But that’s beside the point.

On Friday evening when I was packing my suitcase, George gave me shifty eyes and meowed.  Desperately wanting to escape unscathed, I distracted him with a saucer of milk, grabbed my suitcase, and ran toward the door.

George quickly left his saucer and bounded after me, accosting me with a snarky “meow.”

Knowing I’d been caught, I paused, turned around and said my usual, “Goodbye George! I’m leaving you for another cat! Mwah! Love you!”

I then left the poor kitty boy all by himself.

I wasn’t sure what surprises I would find when I came back, so naturally, I was unprepared for my punishment.

When I opened the door, George was sitting in the dark, his beady eyes glaring into my soul.

He started yelling at me, and continued until he was too tired to keep talking.

In this video, George has to lay down halfway through because he has overexerted himself in expressing his feelings.

After yelling at me, George was delighted to find that I had brought him a new toy.

A box.

He spent the rest of the evening cuddled up in it, happily purring away.

So, if you must leave your cat alone overnight (or longer), come bearing gifts.  They might forgive you fast enough to jump and attack you as you’re trying to fall fast asleep.

Wishing all the angry little cats out there a chance to find a box of their own,

L

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 20:58:47

    Oh, cats know all about suitcases. I know of one instance where the travelers found cat food in theirs while on vacation!

    Reply

    • 2catladies
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 23:46:43

      Yay! A comment! I award you 10 cat lady points. It’s soooo true that they know alllll about suitcases. George likes to jump in mine, roll around on my clothes, and leave fur everywhere. – L

      Reply

  2. Lynn
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 08:11:52

    10 cat lady points??? I’m rich!!! Thanks, Cat Lady!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

