S’mores Whoopie Pies

So the other day as I was browsing food blogs, I came across this little gem, S’mores Whoopie Pies from Brown Eyed Baker.  (I must warn you that her pictures look way better than mine).  I thought they looked delicious, and I’ve been dying to make them ever since.

This isn’t the first time that 2catladies has blogged about Whoopie Pies.  R wrote about her fabulous adventures here.  I read somewhere recently that Whoopie Pies may be the next craze, like cupcakes have been recently.  Or maybe I’m just making that up.  I don’t know.

Anyway, this recipe calls for “graham flour.”  Not even having used graham flour before, I headed to my local supermarket only to find it wasn’t there.

So I went to The Merc, figuring that if anyone would have it, they would.

I proudly headed down the baking goods aisle, seeing an assortment of flour in alphabetical order.  But when I got to the “G’s,” I did not see graham flour.

Fortunately, a handsome man came to my rescue.  He also happened to work there, so it wasn’t weird.

Handsome Man:  Can I help you find something?

Me:  Yes, I’m looking for graham flour.  And your phone number.  (Except I didn’t say the last part)

Handsome Man:  Well, hmm, let me google it and see if there’s a substitute.

(slight pause while he googled)

Handsome Man:  Well, it says that you can use Garbanzo flour as a substitute.

Me:  Okay, I’ll try that. (hiding the fact that I wasn’t really familiar with Garbanzo flour).

So I bought it.

Behold!

Garbanzo Flour!!!!

So I set to work making my S’mores Whoopie Pies.

Here’s what the drops of dough looked like before going into the oven.

Okay, they're not all perfectly circular...

While they were baking, I mixed the marshmallow creme filling together and began working on the chocolate ganache.

My favorite part?

Assembling the little cutie pies.

Mmm...

After putting them all together, I didn’t think they had turned out like I had envisioned.  But, when I tasted the first one, I experienced a transformation.

I was immediately transported back to bonfires and camping out as a kid.  It tasted heavenly…the marshmallow filling and the chocolate ganache just worked together perfectly inside the soft outer layer.

I quickly wrapped up the rest in plastic and threw them in the freezer, knowing that they would tempt me incredibly if I left them out.

George, sensing something delicious had just been created, fumed angrily in his chair.

Where's mine?

Sorry buddy, maybe next time.

Cats, Heavenly S’mores Whoopie Pies, and Garbanzo flour,

L

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 20:36:53

    Who knew there were so many weird kinds of flour!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 21:02:59

    I was holding Isabel on my lap while I read this. She started fussing while I was scrolling through, so I thought she wanted to go back and look at the picture of George. Rather, she wanted to go back, look at the picture of the whoopie pies, point frantically and tell me excitedly she wants one NOW. That’s my girl!

    Reply

  3. Lynn
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 21:55:25

    Garbanzo flour?? Really?! Either way, these look delicious…we will be trying some variation of them since I’m quite certain I will find neither graham nor garbanzo flour locally. Thanks, Cat Lady!

    Reply

  4. 2catladies
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 22:39:30

    I had no idea there were so many different kinds of flour. After making them, I think that regular flour would probably work as well. I did discover that garbanzo flour is apparently gluten free. They really are delicious and I do encourage making any variety of them. Thanks for the comments! – L

    Reply

Leave a Reply

