Homemade salsa and a cat in a beer box!

Two of my friends came to visit last weekend.  They are avid gardeners.  We went to Lowe’s on a mission to get a pipe wrench (that’s another story), and saw this:

It is a patio plant including banana peppers, jalapenos, and chile peppers.  Because I am easily influenced, and wanted desperately to impress them, I purchased it.

Then I noticed something amazing — it was actually growing peppers!  I cut some off (because I was instructed to NEVER pick them), and brought them in.  And decided I was going to make salsa.

Then I realized I didn’t know how to make salsa, so I turned to one of my heroes — Ree Drummond.

She had this recipe, which I modified based on ingredients/desired amount.

These are the basic ingredients I used:

The banana pepper, jalapeno, and chile pepper are from my “garden.”  The long green one (which is supposedly a habanero?) and cucumber are from the farmers’ market.  The diced tomatoes and rotel are from the store.  The lime juice is from my fridge because somehow I got home without a lime.

I later found a lime rolling around on the floor of my car.  Coincidence?  I think not.

Anyways, I pureed the tomato-y stuff in my food processor because I hate chunky salsa.  Then I added some onion, garlic, cumin, salt, and a touch of sugar.  Then I poured it into a bowl because my food processor is real small.

Next I cut up and semi-seeded the peppers.  I wanted spicy, but not mouth-on-fire.  I threw them into the food processor with a bit of lime juice.  Because simply being around the pepper puree was making my eyes water, I threw in about a quarter of the cucumber (skinned and cut up of course — I’m not THAT lazy).

Kilgore became incapacitated from the strong smell of peppers.  He didn’t move for hours.

Next I mixed the tomato/green stuff together in 2 batches, then dumped it in a bowl and stuck it in the fridge.

Then I ate it with some farmers’ market tamales.  Mmm…

Colonel decided I needed some Kansas beer with my dinner.

You can’t really tell by the picture how much overhang there was.  It was amusing.

You should make some salsa.  Do it however you want!  Please wear gloves when you’re cutting your peppers.  Please.

Love, Cats, and Peppers,

R

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 12:01:57

    Your salsa, though it looks delicious, would make me breathe fire. Which might be kinda awesome if it didn’t hurt so badly. And congratulations on your pepper garden, which I hope sufficiently impressed your visitors from the south.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

