Kitty Boy vs. Human

George is getting older.  He’s lived with me for most of his 7 years (with a few exceptions, including the time I ditched him and moved to the other side of the world – yes, he did punish me upon my return, but that’s another story).

So, as he’s getting older, his behavior has made me suspicious of whether he’s losing his senses or if he’s just getting better at ignoring me.

He likes to hide from me...by hiding his head.

Exhibit A:

I’m sitting in a chair, reading my book, when I suddenly realize that a cat in my lap would make this moment *purrfect.*

“Georgie-kins, would you like to snuggle?”

Is he sleeping? Or playing possum?

He doesn’t move from his napping position.  I can only deduce that he a) is ignoring me, or b) has gone deaf.

I don’t like being ignored.  Kitty boy and I have that in common.

So I flick one of his hair ties over in front of his face.  His eyes open slightly, but he’s too smart to give his possum position away.  I try to psych him out for the next few minutes, but eventually just give up and focus on my book.  After I’m fully engrossed in a chapter, he jumps on my lap, noses the book out of the way, and demands my complete attention.

Well played, sir, well played.

George: 1, L: 0

Exhibit B:

I’m rustling around in the fridge, pulling out some random items to use for dinner, when I notice the absence of George at my feet.  He has been quiet for the past hour.  Almost…too quiet.  I locate him dozing on the floor with his head in the bathroom, but he doesn’t move as I gently pet him.

Snore!

I head back to the kitchen and open up a can of green chiles.  As soon as the can opener merely touches the can, I hear the pounding of George’s paws as he rumbles into the kitchen, meowing his head off.  He thinks it’s tuna.  He has this reaction EVERY time I open a can of anything.  I have come to believe that he might a) have a keen sense of hearing but a poor sense of smell or b) be an eternal tuna optimist.

George: 1, L:1

In the end, I think George is really going to win our little episodes because he’s just gotten so good at ignoring me.

After all, HE isn’t keeping a blog where he frequently references ME…at least not that I know of.

Cats, naps, and tuna,

L

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 22:40:24

    You poor, naive human. Kitty boys ALWAYS win. Nice try though!

    Reply

  2. Lynn
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 23:17:13

    Cats excel at making us believe that they have no real need for us. George will win.

    Reply

  3. 2catladies
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 16:25:09

    It’s absolutely true. Cats will win…and even when they give us a “pity win” once in a while, it’s probably all part of a master plan. – L

    Reply

Leave a Reply

