What do you do with an Armenian Cucumber?

One day I was sitting at home, minding my own business, when the doorbell (which plays, “Hail, Hail, the Gang’s All Here”) rang.

It was a man with 2 Armenian cucumbers.

This is an Armenian cucumber.

Mom and I couldn’t decide what to do with them, so we asked for Colonel’s opinion.

He suggested using it as a cat-saddle.

Oddly enough, that didn’t go over too well.

So he suggested we make Kilgore a fake ‘stache out of it.

That worked for awhile, but appeared to annoy Kilgore.  Wonder why?

Because he had not yet run away, I used it to measure him.  He is slightly longer than an Armenian Cucumber.  Good to know.

…and he would like to keep said cucumber as his best friend.

Caring soul that he is, Kilgore suggested I share the Armenian cucumber with Colonel Coffey.

Colonel resisted at first…

…but loved using it as a swing!

As the novelty of the cucumbers wore off (i.e., my cats ran away), Mom and I decided to make them into a salad.

I mixed together:

1/4 teaspoon dill weed
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup mayonnaise

while Mom effortlessly sliced up two cucumbers using the fancy attachment on her Kitchenaid Mixer.

Then we mixed it all together and chilled it for two hours, stirring it every once in awhile.  Dilly and delicious!

Sorry, I have to go now.  The phone is ringing.

Annoyed Cats, Love, and Armenian Cucumbers,

R

*Recipe acquired from http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1643,140188-246199,00.html.  Thanks, Guy Mattia!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 12:01:18

    Hello? Hello…??? Who is this?? Armenian WHO?? Bah, kids pranking me….!

    Reply

    • 2catladies
      Aug 19, 2011 @ 12:13:42

      Dear Mom (er…Lynn), thank you for commenting.

      It probably had nothing to do with the fact that I walked into the kitchen all sad-like and said in my poutiest voice, “No one commented on my blog. Why doesn’t anyone like me?”

      Reply

  2. Melanie
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 12:17:25

    I can’t possibly be on my computer 24/7 just to respond to your wonderful posts–though I realize that it perhaps should be a higher priority. I just saw your wonderful recipe, which I recall my mother preparing with conventional cucumbers many long years ago. I may have to get me a cucumber.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

