Does Your Cat have a Personality Disorder?

Possibly.  I don’t know.  I haven’t met all of your cats.

But I do often wonder what percentage of cats would be diagnosed with personality disorders if they were evaluated based on human personality disorders.

As I was doing some leisure reading the other day on criminal profiling and psychopaths, I noticed that George Gershwin regularly displays several traits associated with personality disorders.

Paranoid (suspiciousness of others) – George hides whenever “strangers” come over.  I’m usually the only one who ever sees him.

Paranoid

Schizoid (inability to form and lack of interest in social relationships) – Definitely.  It’s always on his own terms.

Schizoid

Narcissistic (overly self-involved, views self as special and deserves special attention) – Yes.  Aside from excessive grooming, ignoring the human until he needs attention, and a fascination with mirrors and windows, George also demands to be given a saucer of milk every morning, but won’t drink it until he has been patted on the head.  It’s purely ridiculous.

There was a time a few weeks ago when I ran out of milk and didn’t go to the store immediately.

Those were dark days.

Narcissistic

Borderline (moody, feels abandonment, self-mutilates) – In the past, George has sometimes “over-groomed” himself to the point of developing bald patches.  Since I started giving him “cat de-stressing medication” a few months ago, he has significantly calmed down.

Borderline

Avoidant (very sensitive to interpersonal rejection) – This depends on the day, but George is quite a sensitive cat and gets flustered if I don’t immediately put down my book and pet him when he requires it.

Avoidant

Even though George Gershwin may display these traits, I think I’ll keep him around for a while.  After all, he’s a looker with a nice purr.

Who, me?

Still sleeping with one eye open,

L

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 21:22:57

    Your “leisure reading” is on criminal profiling?! Also, has George lost weight?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

